I’m back!

So its been a while since I’ve been on here. I’m guessing over a year now. I have been trying my hardest to keep with the cooking and I’ve improved a lot. But I just haven’t thought to come back and post about it. I’ve made a few new recipes that have sat well with my boyfriend so I know I am making progress.

I’ve decided to keep this blog simply because I need an outlet for some of my cooking frustrations and my new experiments. I’m trying to become better and I trying to take it seriously by planning out my meals and making sure they are healthy and good for us. We have gained some weight since the last time I posted and I need to reverse that PRONTO.

I want to get on track and really start doing well as far as our eating habits. I don’t appreciate the weight I’ve gained, or the fact that I lose my breath coming up the stairs from the subway. So, I’m implementing some lifestyle changes.

1. Healthier eating: less garbage more real food. Eating every three hours to keep my metabolism going. Drinking a lot of water. Eating breakfast, and that doesn’t include a Builder Bar and a Venti Iced Coffee from Starbucks. Stop eating left-overs from the kid I take care of. And reducing the amount of junk food I consume and limiting it to ONE cheat day, which will be Sundays.

2. Exercising: I NEED to get back into the habit of exercising. I used to go to the gym 5 times a week. Now I don’t go at all and I’m still paying my membership. We have a beautiful park here around the corner from our apartment and I walk a lot with the kid I take care of, so I have to take advantage of that.

3. Fluids:  it goes without saying. I need to drink more water. More green tea, less fattening coffee and stick to my basic black.

This is my first week planning out my meals ahead of time. I usually just come home and I just make whatever I have on hand but usually I end up making things that I’ve made recently and I want to avoid that since I am trying to impress my boyfriend and myself. I don’t want my cooking to look like I’m just cooking because I have to and I’m trying to get it over with quickly. I want it to show that I love doing it.

Its still hard to do this with my mother-in-law on me like white on rice. But I’ve gotten to the point where I pay no mind to her and do what I have to do.

Anyway, yesterday I made I made my boyfriend’s lunch for today. And in keeping in the spirit of healthy eating, I made a copy cat version of Applebee’s Oriental Chicken Salad. It came out pretty awesome, if I do say so myself. I didn’t take a picture of it so I can’t post the actual thing, but I will share the recipe and the small changes I made to make it my own and to make it somewhat more healthy.

Applebee’s Oriental Chicken Salad Copycat

Honey Oriental Dressing
  1. 3 Tbsp honey (cut this down to 1 tbsp)
  2. 1 1/2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
  3. 1/4 cup mayonnaise ( I didn’t use this at all)
  4. 1 tsp Dijon Mustard
  5. 1/8 tsp sesame oil
For the Salad
I skipped steps 1-4. I made it with grilled chicken, seasoned with some salt, oregano, and cumin.
  1. 1 egg
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup flour
  4. 1/2 cup cornflake crumbs
  5. 1 tsp salt
  6. 1/4 tsp pepper
  7. 1 chicken breast
  8. 3 cups vegetable oil, for frying (I used Pam)
  9. 3 cups chopped romaine lettuce
  10. 1/2 cup chopped red cabbage
  11. 1/2 cup chopped napa cabbage (didn’t include this)
  12. 1 carrot, shredded
  13. 1 green onion, chopped (used red onion instead)
  14. 1/4 cup chopped cucumber
  15. 1 Tbsp sliced almonds (didn’t include this either)
Instructions
It goes without saying that I skipped steps 2-4. I just seasoned my chicken, sprayed some Pam on the skillet and grilled the chicken until it was cooked through. I let it sit for a few minutes on the cutting board and then I cut it into strips.
  1. Blend together all ingredients for the dressing. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  2. Preheat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. You want the oil at about 350 degrees F, (or test the oil by putting a small piece of torn bread into the pot and if the bread sizzles, it’s ready, if it just floats there, it’s not.)
  3. In a small bowl beat the egg and milk together. In another bowl combine the flour, cornflake crumbs and salt and pepper.
  4. Cut chicken breast into several long thin strips. Dip the strips in the egg mixture, and then into the flour mixture, coating completely. Add chicken strips to the hot oil and fry for 3-4 minutes or until cooked through and coating is dark golden brown.
  5. Prepare the salad: Combine the romaine, red cabbage, napa cabbage, carrots, onions and cucumber.
  6. Add chicken pieces on top and sprinkle with almonds. Serve with the honey oriental dressing!

I found this recipe on Pinterest, but the credit goes to the lady who runs the website I will post below.

http://tastesbetterfromscratch.com/2014/06/applebees-oriental-chicken-salad-copycat.html

 

Hope you all enjoy it. I hope I can stick to actually updating more often on here.

Leave a Reply

