My “Arrugula” Skirt Steak “Salad”

Good evening all! As I have mentioned I am on a quest to lose weight and get healthy. I have tracked my food this whole week, and tracked my exercise through my FitBit Flex. I’ve come in under my calorie goal 4 out of the 5 days ๐Ÿ˜€ the day I went over was because I got a little too happy with a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon :/ I love my wine. Anyway, I have said no to the taco truck around the corner every day this week, which is a very hard thing to do because I have grown ADDICTED to their chorizo tacos…they are the best I have ever eaten. Today is my 4th anniversary, and my boyfriend knows that my weakness is the taco truck and offered to bring some to celebrate…I plain out rejected him and said we could eat some on Sunday, which will be our cheat day. I am very proud of myself.

Anyway, this week, I had all my meals planned, or at least the lunch/dinner part. Breakfast is very easy for me to do since we always either have a fruit protein smoothie or some type of egg concoction. On Tuesday we made this amazing recipe that I found on my Pinterest account titled Arrugula Skirt Steak Salad. So I took the recipe, and of coarse I completely changed it into something else ๐Ÿ˜€ well not completely but i changed it somewhat.

My boyfriend and I went food shopping when I got back from work in the afternoon (my job gives me a nice break from 9am-2pm). We bought everything we needed for the week and went home to cook. My boyfriend took care of the steak which he simply seasoned with salt and pepper, while I prepared the salad. The only catch was we made sandwiches out of it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I know bread is not exactly diet-friendly, but I couldn’t help myself this time, especially since where we live they have the BEST bakery with the FRESHEST bread, so good.

So, I’ll post the recipe below and I’ll post the changes I made ๐Ÿ™‚

Arrugula Skirt Steak Salad with Pears, Pecans and Gorgonzola

Ingredients

1 lb. skirt steak, excess fat trimmed

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and pepper, for seasoning (about 1 teaspoon per side of steak)

2 tablespoons unsalted butter –didn’t use–

1/4 cup light brown sugar –didn’t use–

2 large pears, cored and cut into medium-sized chunks –didn’t use–

1 tablespoon granulated sugar –didn’t use–

3/4 cup chopped pecans –didn’t use–

4 ounces crumbled gorgonzola cheese –used feta instead–

4 cups baby arugula, washed and patted dry –used spring mix instead–

For the Mustard Vinaigrette:

1 tablespoon dijon mustard

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/2 teaspoon sugar –used honey instead–

1/3 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

1. Cook the skirt steak to your liking.

2. Heat butter in a large skillet over medium flame. Once melted add brown sugar and stir until sugar is dissolved. Add pear chunks, stir, and then cook โ€“ stirring occasionally โ€“ for about 5 minutes, or just until the pears have released their juices and really softened up. With a slotted spoon (leaving behind as much sauce as possible) transfer pears to a clean plate. –I SKIPPED THIS STEP–

3. Add pecans to the same skillet the pears were cooked in (keeping the pear juices and caramel in the pan!), and toss them in the caramel, cooking over medium heat for just 1-2 minutes. Remove pan from heat and working quickly transfer pecans to a plate covered in wax or parchment paper. –SKIPPED THIS STEP–

4. Once steak has rested for 10 minutes, slice meat against the grain into 1โ€ strips.

5. Scatter arugula onto a large serving dish or platter. Arrange steak strips across the top, then add pears, pecans, and gorgonzola evenly around the platter. Lightly dress with vinaigrette, and serve at once.

For theย Mustard Vinaigrette:

Whisk all of the ingredients together. Season well with salt and pepper and adjust ingredients to taste.

 

So, I basically followed all these steps except for the ones for the pears and pecans. I made the vinaigrette in a separate bowl and then tossed the salad with it. My salad was just a spring mix with some cherry tomatoes, cucumber, feta cheese and red onion. Everything was chopped very small so that it would be easier to eat. After I tossed the salad with the dressing, I cut up the steak into pieces and tossed that into the salad bowl and gave one final mix so that the steak could coat with the vinaigrette. We used some nice fresh french bread, gutted it so that it made a shell to hold the salad, and then we loaded it up. It was absolutely delicious. I hope I get the chance to make it the real one that’s on this post though, because it sounds awesome.

I hope some one tries this wonderful recipe, whether its the original or my version and lets me know how it tasted ๐Ÿ™‚

Below I am including the direct link to the recipe I used:

http://bakerbynature.com/arugula-skirt-steak-salad-with-caramelized-pears-pecans-and-gorgonzola/

 

Sleep well everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

